Tasmanian Employer + TMEC Annual Conferences On Sale Now.

Minerals and Manufacturing Sector seeking to ramp up industry inclusion and diversity practices


The Tasmanian Minerals, Manufacturing and Energy Council (TMEC) are proud to be partnering with AusIMM Women in Mining Network Tasmania (WIMnet) for the 8th year in hosting the 2021 Women in Resources and Manufacturing Tasmania Awards.

The Awards are an important part of changing the paradigm which is held by many in the community regarding the opportunities for women to flourish in the industry sectors represented by TMEC. The Awards provide the opportunity to hear the voices of our female employees who are vital contributors to the industry and at the same time encourage other women to follow in their footsteps.

Tasmanian award winners proceed to national events in resources and manufacturing later in the year. Representatives from Tasmania have taken out national awards on a number of occasions, proving yet again Tasmania punches above its weight.

The TMEC Board recently took a decision that will see TMEC, via its member companies, afforded the opportunity to take a stronger role in driving the change in creating a more inclusive workplace.

The Chief Executive Officer of TMEC, Ray Mostogl said, “Our industry strives to create inclusive workplaces where a diverse range of people can safely and freely contribute to the overall purpose of an organisation. Doing this well in our workplaces helps create the same respectful culture back within communities which in turn helps to bring improved equality to our society more broadly.”

The Award launch was held in George Town overlooking the Tamar River which via its adjacent port of Bell Bay exporting approximately 60% of Tasmania’s manufactured goods.

In attendance was Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Kate Warner AC, Governor of Tasmania and the Hon Sarah Courtney MP, in her capacity as Minister for Women. Both the Governor and Minister have been supporters of the awards for a number of years.

The Finalists and Winners of the 2021 Awards will be announced at a gala event on June 2nd in Hobart.

Pictured are (L to R) Ted Bradshaw (Chair WIMnet Tasmania), The Hon Sarah Courtney MP, Ray Mostogl (Chief Executive Officer, TMEC) and Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Kate Warner AC, Governor of Tasmania.
Photo courtesy of Rob Burnett Images.